On March 27th, Facebook Messenger announced an update which could significantly expand its influence. Thanks to Live Location, the service may soon be going offline, besides being online. The platform offered details about its newest feature in a blog post in its official Newsroom page.
Live Location Will Help Users Go Offline
According to its Facebook’s post, this new option will allow its users to share their location. However, not everyone will have access to this information. In order to maintain your privacy, Facebook introduced a set of security measures.
As such, a user can share their location, but this will only be available for an hour. Then, just like the “My Day” feature, the media, or in this case, information, will disappear. Also, the live location will not be generally available.
Instead, Facebook Messenger will allow users to share this tidbit only with their desired receiver. As it is, this information can be shared in a private message or perhaps in a group message thread.
The Live Location feature will work as follows. In order to access it, a user will have to tap the ‘Location’ icon. If this is not immediately available, they will have to tap ‘More’ and then press on ‘Location’. Starting with this latest update, this should open up a map. This should show the user’s current location. Also, it should come with a blue bar option. By tapping it, the current location should be shared with the desired group.
Live Location Is Available On Both Android And iOS
After this information becomes available, the group should be able to see and access it for the next 60 minutes. Also, they, as well as the source user, will be able to see an estimated arrival time. For the moment, this will be offering car travel estimates. It remains to be seen if other transportation option time measurements will become available.
The feature is also not limited to the 60-minutes time hour frame. If they wish, usesr can immediately re-share the data after it expires. Or, if on the contrary, they want to stop sharing the info, they can cancel it. They can do so by tapping on ‘Stop Sharing’.
Also, users will not have to keep track of the time themselves. A small clock on the lower right-hand corner of their map will show the remaining time before the shared information disappears. The Live Location feature will function in the same way for both the iOS and the Android versions.
According to Facebook, the platform has been testing the option for quite some time. These claim that Live Location is quite helpful for making plans with friends, your roommates, or even as the user is trying to keep an appointment.
Image Source: Flickr